Waves Version 3.5

Discussion in 'Mixing' started by Doublehelix, Jun 16, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Doublehelix

    Doublehelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    I posted this in the Digital Cafe also, and realized after posting that we now have this coolplug-insForum!!! This is therefore a double-post, and is identical to the one in the Cafe:

    Waves has just released version 3.5 of thier plugins, and they promise *much* less processor drain, and more instances of each plug. This is a free upgrade for users of version 3.0 or above. Also included are the final release versions of the Waveshell-VST plugs for Windows (finally!).

    {Note on the Waveshell-VST plugs: I have been part of the Public Beta on these, and when they work, they are great...unfortunately, I have been resorting back to the Direct-X versions since the VST ones seem to disappear when I close down Cubase, and come back later...hopefully this is now fixed in this final release...the VST versions are much faster loading, and are obviously easier to automate from within Cubase.}

    You can get them at:

    http://www.waves.com
     
  2. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Well, have to say NOPE...not working for me right now!
    When I activate say the Q4 EQ...the channel gives a pop and I lose all audio playback..also the channel strip meter goes to the top and stays there until I disable the Q4!! Revert back to 3.2 and all is well...
    Not ready to do a clean install for XP and so forth as I am waiting for the next release of Nuendo to do so. I don't like adding patches on top of patches on top of the install! Dat $*^t Scare me!! lol
    Opus
     
  3. Doublehelix

    Doublehelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    That is pretty wild Gary...I have been running 3.5 since it came out without a hitch! I have used both the DX versions and the Waveshell (VST) versions just as a test, and they both work flawlessly on my Win2000 system. I actually am now using the VST versions 100% since they are working so well...could this be an XP issue or possibly a Nuendo issue? (I am using Cubase SX and Wavelab)
     
  4. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Well, I haven't tried them in Wavelab so I'm not sure what the issue is right now..I plan on redoing my system once Nuendo 1.6 comes out as well as when I recieve my copy of SX.
    I haven't tried further troubleshooting as my brain is complete mush at the end of the day at Apogee....it's hard being the sole tech person for this company....lots o stuff to do..
    Opus
     
  5. mixKID

    mixKID Guest

    as far as the Q4 eq........
    check the " backwards compatabillity"
    option..

    that SHOULD fix this
     
  6. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Huh? That's an option for 3.x for 2.x owners only..pretty sure that's not the case here...my XP install is getting wierd since I am doing beta testing on a few things...happens when you do that ya know! lol
    Opus
     
  7. Opus2000

    Opus2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2001
    Well....retrieved a ghost image of a clean install of XP..reinstalled Nuendo(even went to 1.6...boy am I scared!) and installed Waves 3.5 ...no problem now...wierd! Oh well...exactly what I thought was going to happen! Coolio! (insert thumbs up graemlin!) :D
     
  8. Doublehelix

    Doublehelix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Great Gary! The 3.5 plugs are really nice. I love the Waveshell stuff since it is VST...
     
Similar Threads
  1. Doublehelix
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    4,656
  2. Doublehelix
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    394
  3. impro
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    2,651
  4. engineer971
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,962
  5. DonnyThompson
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    698
Loading...

Share This Page