Which Windows OS

Discussion in 'Computing' started by Dan Theman, Jan 12, 2011.

  1. Dan Theman

    Dan Theman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island, New York, USA
    Well, I am building a new Recording Machine and was wondering the Pros and Cons of windows OS.

    I am thinking of going for windows 7 home but my bassist is telling me to get windows 7 professional 64bit.

    We aren't a professional studio but we do produce professional home recordings for our band and other local musicians.

    Is there any noticeable benefits to choose Win 7 Prof over Home and 64bit over 32bit?
     
  2. BobRogers

    BobRogers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA
    What DAW and plugins are you using?
     
  3. Dan Theman

    Dan Theman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island, New York, USA
    The whole system is as follows,
    AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor
    ASUS M4A79XTD EVO ATX AMD Motherboard
    G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory
    Western Digital Caviar Blue 250GB 3.5" SATA 6.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive Quantity of 3 (2 for raid set up on OS, 1 for recording storage)
    With a Typical CD/DVD Drive and 500W Power Supply.

    Audio Interface is the USB M-Audio Fast Track Pro. The audio out goes to a separate receiver which powers my Monitors.

    recording on Cubase 5.

    All types of recording Direct Instruments, Mic'ed Instruments, Vocals, MIDI.

    I think that it, let me know if i forgot anything.
     
  4. JohnTodd

    JohnTodd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Location:
    Standing right behind you!
    I use Win7-64 bit now. I can't begin to enumerate all the subtle and not-so-subtle differences. If you are wanting to make sure the system will handle anything you throw at it, then get Pro or Ultimate.

    And 64-bit is the wave of the future. 32-bit is on it's way out. 64-bit can access more RAM and so forth.

    Sorry for the ambiguous reply. It's almost beddy-by time for me.
     
  5. Dan Theman

    Dan Theman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island, New York, USA
    Thanks for the help guys, very much appreciated, get some rest!! Windows 7 Pro 64bit here I come!
     
  6. Big K

    Big K Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Location:
    Munich / Germany
    Home Page:
    M2c...
    Apropos W7,64 bit and Cubase:

    The situation of 64 bit ( fully ) compatible plugs has improved quite a bit. Yet, some specific plugs ( you surely visit the Cubase forum...) are till problematic ( FX or VSTi . J-Bridge and SB bit bridges are still a bit quirky with some, when running 32-bit software inside Cubase 64-bit version.

    If you use the Cubase 32-bit version on an 64-bit OS you can avoid many of those potential problems and still get more RAM to work with than on a 32-bit OS. I work with Nuendo 5 and it is as solid as it gets in this config. Anyhow, you can install Cubase 64-bit on the same machine alongside a 32-bit version and the switch to or co-existence of both versions is quite unproblematic.
     
  7. Dan Theman

    Dan Theman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    Long Island, New York, USA
    Interesting, I will have to keep that in mind about Cubase. Thanks!
     
  8. Kennith Hillis

    Kennith Hillis Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    AZ
    Home Page:
    Windows 7 Professional is the best because of it's "XP mode". It doesn't work like you would think, but it is a nice feature. I have used it several times and it works perfectly everytime. I highly suggest using this OS. You will be up to date will still being able to use old software. That's the biggest reason why Vista completely failed.

    Windows 7: Compare editions - Windows 7 Professional - This will allow you to compare the different versions.
     

Share This Page