Skip to main content

I'm new to running sound. I have this board and I need to run subs, mains, and monitors. Any info about how to work with it would be greatly appreciated. I'm just looking to absorb any knowledge anyone has about this mixer and how to run it for live sound.

Topic Tags

Comments

New Sound Guy Sun, 04/29/2012 - 19:06

Yeah I read it pretty thoroughly, but I still don't understand all I've learned. For example, I see that I can connect powered speakers to the stereo L/R jacks, but I don't know where to run a line to the amp for the subs. I see that there is a L/R for monitors, but three of the guys in the band have in ear monitors, and two of us use regular floor monitors. I don't know where to run a line to the amp for those floor monitors either. I'm trying to learn from actual people instead of a manual.

moonbaby Mon, 04/30/2012 - 08:39

It would kind of help us help you if we know what gear you're interfacing with...
Are the subs "active"? This means that their power amp (and crossover processing) is built into them.
If not, they are "passive", and need an external power amp to run them. In this case, you will need an "active crossover"
to split the sub range from the "house" systems, plus a power amp to drive the speakers.
Are the house speakers "active" or "passive"?