Skip to main content

Hi, I am new to recording. I am trying to find the best settings for my MXL R144 paired with a XENYX 802. I am using this primarily for recording violin. Right now, I am getting a muddy and scratchy sound from my mic. Any tips?

Comments

anonymous Sun, 01/25/2015 - 22:39

The R144 is a ribbon mic - so it will have a darker sound inherently. If you are looking for "bright", then it's not the best mic to use. In fact, a ribbon mic would not be my first choice for recording an acoustic instrument like a violin. It won't pick up the nuances of the instrument. You'd get better results using a condenser or dynamic for this purpose. Also, Ribbon mics are usually Fig 8 in their pickup, which means that you will also be picking up quite a bit of the sound of the room you are recording in as well.

I'm not familiar with your mixer, so I don't know how much gain the mic pre's have; and because ribbon mics are traditionally very low in output, they require a mic pre beefy enough to gain them up to optimal levels. I'm not saying your mixer can't do it, I'm saying that this might be something to look at.

As far as the "scratchy" sound you are hearing - it might be a bad mic cable, or, the mic itself could be defective. MXL is a pretty cheap mic, hence it is built using cheaper components, so you might have an issue with it. Have you tried other mics, using other mic cables, though the same mixer channel? If you have an there's been no problem, then you probably need to replace the mic.

If the mic is relatively new, I would return it and swap it for another one, and for what you want to do, I would suggest you look at a condenser or a dynamic model instead.

d.

moonbaby Mon, 01/26/2015 - 13:17

Your Behringer mixer will probably need to have the channel's mic gain cranked to use that ribbon mic. Then you run into the noise issue...Probably not the best match for that mic.