Skip to main content

Well I have a Dell Dimension 8100 P4 2.8 400Mhz 512MB RDRAM that I've been using as my DAW. While I am just a hobbyist, its still very frustrating to deal with bogging when I go heavy on the VST's, audio, effects, etc...

So obviously its time to upgrade. The question is:

Should I upgrade my RDRAM? I can go up to 2Gb on mine, and again, I'm only at 512Mb. Will this make a significant noticeable difference?

Or, should I scrap it and start a new DAW? My Dimension 8100 has an ancient 400MHz FSB! My P4 2.8 is the max CPU I can go with this. Also, RDRAM is pretty old.

THANKS!

Comments

anonymous Fri, 03/02/2007 - 23:02

Yes, Ram will make a difference. How many plugins do you need to run. I run an Inspiron 9100 laptop with only slightly better specs (3.2 Ghz P4, 1 GB DDR 400 Mhz dual channel) and with track freezing and such can get A LOT of tracks out of Cubase SX3 and a few less but still good in Ableton Live 6 with plenty of fx. 512 mb in XP is not enough, windows xp can chew up 256 megs all by itself..

JLiRD808 Sat, 03/03/2007 - 05:35

Thanks for the advise.

Unfortunately I use SE3 which doesn't have track freezing but I've learned some other tricks to save CPU power. I also have a UAD-1 card which I just got and am gonna start using more heavily.

I have a real problem opening and closing songs (takes forever sometimes) which sucks when I have people over and I want to go through them 1 at a time. I guess I should just export them to WAV and play them in my media player for those instances.

I also just got a 2nd HD. What would be the optimum setup for this? Should I have Cubase on one HD and my songs (.cpr files) on another? Should I have my VST instruments on one or another?

THANKS!

anonymous Sun, 03/04/2007 - 21:49

yes, I do this on my laptop, I run the audio files form an external USB 2.0 drive with 300 GB at 10,000 rpm and the o/s and program from the internal 60 GB 7200 rpm drive, it helps a bit.