Skip to main content

hi all, i have a small home studio and i am thinking on upgrading some of the stuff to get a better overall sound but since i am new to the recording industry i would love to hear you experts up there on what to buy or upgrade.

the list gear in my studio is here on my web site

http://www.emaweb.c…"]remaweb[/]="http://www.emaweb.c…"]remaweb[/]

my budget is 3,000.00

any help is appreciated thank you much

Comments

B Callaway Fri, 07/07/2006 - 00:51

You should do pretty well with the advice already given. I have been searching the same list as well and somw ideas are:

Preamps -
Great River ME-1NV $1100
John Hardy M-1 $1200
Speck Electronics MicPre 5.0 - $900
TAB-funkenwerk V-78 $1100
etc

LDC - Huge selecion at $1000 and up

Cheap Tube on the side Studio Projects TB1 Microphone @ $250

Good hunting, plenty to choose from.

anonymous Sat, 07/08/2006 - 17:16

This is a great question. But the answer is simple. Buy the most high-end gear you can, because in the end the gear's longevity and the pleasure you get from it is well worth the extra $$. Buy less items, but higher end items. I just had a similar situation, not so general though. I wanted the best system for recording a hand made German piano within a certain budget. I'm from Indiana, and Sweetwater here is the obvious choice, but they wern't of too much help. I went to Vintage King Audio (up in Michigan) that specializes in both high-end and vintage stuff. Mike Nehra is the brains behind the operation, and he got me on the right track without being pushy. So contact him directly. He's a highly experience, intelligent, and ethical recording engineer, and won't steer you wrong. Also, besides working with Mike, do LOTS of research.

tallrd Tue, 07/11/2006 - 12:15

Definitely a very cool site you have. I dig your logo graphic too.

Forgive me in advance for my first post on here being long, but I think I have some useful info which will help others in your position as well.