Skip to main content

Hello all, I'm about to buy either the Yamaha AW4416 or the Akia DPS16.
I've been all over the place gleaning info on both and I JUST CAN'T decide! There seems to be a sort of underground thing about the DPS16 being "true" pro sound, but the AW4416 seems to have more flexibility.
For my purposes, I WILL want to use the onboard effects, but will be doing the music part by part, all separately.
Does anyone have any advice?

Topic Tags

Comments

realdynamix Sat, 05/31/2003 - 17:53

:) I use one, AW-4416, there is no way I will ever use all the features. I am still learning mine. But, step by step I'm getting it. No glitches yet. It's the real deal all bundled into one thing.

Go to Yamaha's website and check the features and options. Quite a machine, and I'm turning mine on right now. Ready to roll. The other you mention may be nice as well, maybe easier, I dunno, but you can find good deals on the Yam around.

--Rick

anonymous Fri, 06/20/2003 - 09:36

I use the 4416 and am quite happy. I haven't used the Akai but have heard good stuff about it. I think you can pick up a used 4416 on ebay for around $1200 and for that price you definately can't go wrong. The converters and pres are probably your weakest link on any stand alone recorder and I can't imagine that there is a lot of difference in sound quality between the two. As far as expansion options the Yamaha appears to be a sure thing.

Rob

realdynamix Fri, 06/20/2003 - 10:05

Originally posted by Rob Chittum:
I use the 4416 and am quite happy...As far as expansion options the Yamaha appears to be a sure thing.

Rob

Hi Rob, and all! All these stand alone HD recorders appear to be nice Re: Fostex/Roland/Akia etc. Do you have the apogee cards for your aw-4416 system?

Do you ever use the remote (host computer) connection, and for what?

Finally, would it not be GREAT if Yamaha provided a video output for a monitor like the old S-50 sampling keyboard had? Only higher res of course.

--Rick