Skip to main content

Hey ya'll, so i've been recording music for the last 7 years; and i'm still frustrated trying to get that mix to sound "professional"; i honestly dont know what i'm suppose to be looking for when mixing down certain pieces of a song, i just figure whatever sounds "good". :||||

so, here's the question:
how do you know what sounds good?

woah right?

Topic Tags

Comments

RemyRAD Fri, 11/16/2012 - 22:00

Every time before I begin a mix, I calibrated my hearing, even in my own control room, with a series of CDs that I have used throughout the years as a reference. And I generally pick recordings that were produced on similar equipment to what I may be using. It helps that I also know where or what and how many of these recordings were made and by whom. So, if I was asked to mix at a studio that had an SSL board, I'd likely bring along some Sting, Tears for Fears, Simple Minds since I know those were cut and mix on SSL consoles. Given an API or a Neve, I bring some classic hits recorded on those consoles. This gives me a baseline to start with. Of course these were all mastered by some great mastering engineers. So I can't necessarily expect same volume levels, density, etc.. Then, I can create my acoustic signature. And then I know that when it's mastered, it will be just all the better. Sometimes my mixes only require normalization as the only final step, necessary. It's great when you can make your mix sound exactly like you have it in your head. Which then doesn't give Mastering Engineers much to do or to work with. Which is actually the way it should be. Today most recordist need their big daddy Mastering Engineer to make little Tommy's recording sound professional. Remember that Mastering was really nothing more back in the day than a transfer process. Today it's that magical guy that can correct for your crappy home recordings and make them sound almost like professional recordings.

It's all in your technique
Mx. Remy Ann David