Skip to main content

Hi folks,
I'm in the process of putting my home studio together, but I'm having a bit of trouble getting two-way communication between my Mackie 24*8 bus mixing board, and a Tascam US-16x08.
I have limited experience with mixing boards, but a friend sold me the Mackie for "an offer I couldn't refuse".
I have tried patching channels 1 and 2 out from the Tascam into numerous line ins on the Mackie, but not getting anything from my monitors (connected to the Control Room outs, which work as a standalone without the interface). Ideally I would like all 8 channels of the Tascam to be connected to the 8 buses of the Mackie, but I cannot figure out how to achieve this.
If anyone wants to give a newbie some advice, it would be greatly appreciated

Comments

dvdhawk Tue, 04/14/2015 - 19:42

Do you have a separate control room and tracking room?

If not, I'd start with the basic live stereo mix before you get into the more confusing "Flip" buttons and B-Mix options.

• If your monitor system has unbalanced inputs, try using the ¼" Main Mix outs. If the monitors are balanced, I would connect to the Main XLR Outputs until you get the hang of it.
  • Plug the TRS outputs of the Tascam into the corresponding input (Balanced Line In TRS) channels of the Mackie. Preferably with balanced ¼" TRS cables.
  • If you use the ¼" inputs, press the Mic/Line button DOWN located by the input connectors to engage the ¼" input.
  • If you're using the XLR inputs, the Mic/Line button by the input connectors needs to be UP to engage the Mic connector.
  • Make sure you assign the channel(s) to go somewhere. L/R Mix would be easiest at this point.
  • Move the channel sliders and main L/R sliders so they are at Unity.
  • Set the Gain (Trim), and for this experiment - make sure the FLIP button beside the Trim Knob is UP, so you're listening to the channels, not the Tape Returns.
  • If you press the "Solo" button you can get a good visual on your levels on your meters.