Skip to main content

If all you had was a Neumann TLM 103, Allen & Heath Mixer, Nuendo, Waves Ren, UAD-1, Pair of Oktava MK-012's, RODE NT-2, various small and large dynamic mics Mackie HR824's, decent sounding rooms AND had $3,000 to upgrade what would you do?.Style...Rock, Alt Country, full band and acoustic mostly multi-tracking so a mic or mic preamp can be used for most instruments. Also I know there is a wide range of gear listed in the poll but I'm just curious to see what others might suggest. .remember this is gonna be the only other gear you'll have for a while. .a long while. :(

title: (Here's a poll for ya. ) edited to a more search friendly title by audiokid.

Comments

J-3 Mon, 08/02/2004 - 18:09

Hey Kurt, I'm hot on the ribbon because I'm a electric guitarist and really want to work on getting killer tones. I've heard so many times that the ribbon is the way to go and the AEA comes recommended over the Royer. The Great River would be a cool match, I guess I could do one GR pre and one GR eq with the ribbon mic. hmmm.

sdelsolray Mon, 08/02/2004 - 21:50

Re: Here's a poll for ya.

J-3 wrote: If all you had was a Neumann TLM 103, Allen & Heath Mixer, Nuendo, Waves Ren, UAD-1, Pair of Oktava MK-012's, Rode NT-2, various small and large dynamic mics Mackie HR824's, decent sounding rooms AND had $3,000 to upgrade what would you do????.........Style...Rock, Alt Country, full band and acoustic mostly multi-tracking so a mic or mic pre can be used for most instruments. Also I know there is a wide range of gear listed in the poll but I'm just curious to see what others might suggest.....remember this is gonna be the only other gear you'll have for a while.....a long while. :(

The GR 2NV and AEA R84 will be a great combination for your uses. The GR will take those Oktavas to another level. The only other suggestions for pres I'd make that you might want to look into:

DW Fearn single channel
Pendulum Audio MDP-1a

Good Luck!

J-3 Tue, 08/03/2004 - 08:09