Skip to main content

I'm in the market for some gear to get a small project studio going with intentions on recording other artists.

Right now I have a Mackie onyx 1220i and enjoy it because it's use as a mixer and firewire interface are good for my band with live use/home pa mixer/firewire interface. I also like the preamps in this model, and have had great results with going straight into the Mackie using a RODE nt1a. I like the warmth and natural tone I get from them on both acoustic guitar and vocals. So far that's all I have used it on. I'm using Logic Express and like everything except the reverb.

I am also going to purchase mics for recording drums. The Mackie 1220i only has 4 XLR inputs, but has 12 channels total. Would it be worth it in the long run to go ahead and sell the 1220i and get an interface that has more XLR inputs or go another route and use the 1220i and get another mixer/preamp unit/upgrade a few things on my macbook/? I'm really new to most of this and need an opinion on what to do. I also need to get monitors/upgrade from my RODE nt1a(under $700)/small diaphragm mics/drum mics. trying to spend less than $3000.

Budget wise maybe it'd work out to keep the Mackie and get something to be able to use more mics for drums. Not really sure how often you'll need more than 4 XLR inputs, but it seems like you have a lot more control over the sound when you have more individual tracks. Thanks for anyone who feels like taking this question on.

Comments

MattLactose Sun, 01/02/2011 - 16:56

that would solve my input problems. it doesn't seem like this unit is used a whole lot but after talking to several people they all have said that the mackies pre's are better than other similarly priced units. it is kinda big compared to a smaller rack mount unit, but not that big of a deal. I like having physical controls on the mackie too. this would cut into my budget though with needing monitors/mics and computer upgrades.

soapfloats Sun, 01/02/2011 - 22:53