Skip to main content

wasup guys... i'm new here so... be gentile...

I'm thinking of spending about 5000 euros on recording stuff
i am a guitarist in a band and we all have pretty decent instruments...

We have the following material for recording:
Computer P4 2,4 with soundblaster live platinum
Spirit Absolute 2 monitors
Behringer 2004a mixer
Three Shure SM58 and one SM57
Zoom RFX 2000 Effect Rack
Behringer Virtualizer Pro

We want to be able to record live drums with very good quality as well as acoustic and electric guitars, bass, keys and vocals.
Around this budget i see so many things on the market and i'm thinking of the following
MOTU 896 HD and Tascam 2400 control surface or Tascam FW 1884 with two 8 channel expanders
AKG Drum Set Big which consistes of a D112, four C418PH and two C1000s.
AKG 3000B or RODE NT-2000
PreSonus Blue Tube for the preamp tube
PreSonus Blue Max for compression
After checking out so many posts and stuff i've seen that there are some fine products out there...
othres i've seen are the Digidesign 002rack, the new RMEfireface 800 and so on...
can you guys tell me of products that work with ADAT too but can have 8 ins on a 24/96?
other question... can i use both the ADATs line ins with the analogs from, say the MOTU 896hd?

What do you guys sugest?
help here...
Many thanks

Topic Tags

Comments

KurtFoster Mon, 07/26/2004 - 12:15

I hate to be negative but I have some issues with most of the gear you have mentioned. I will also try to be constructive by offering some alternatives for the pieces you mentioned. Keep in mind that my opinions are just that and other folks my not agree with my assessments. It is well known I have a definite bias towards higher end gear ...

Motu 896 HD and Tascam 2400 control surface or Tascam FW 1884 with two 8 channel expanders.