Skip to main content

Hey,
I'm in an acoustic band and we've been saving up to record an album by paying for it in a Studio, the usual way. However, we recently decided to spend the money we've saved on some equipment to pump out some half-decent demos instead of focusing all our cash on a short period of professional recording. As such, I'd very much appreciate any feedback to these few questions:

1. As I said we're an acoustic band, but we use a full drum kit. What is the cheapest, simplest way to record drums at home? I've heard of just using one mic for everything, but I would rather have some amount of control over the levels of the different drums.

2. What software is a good balance between simplicity (since I'm no sound engineer) and overall robustness? We're not looking at radio-quality mastering here.

3. The room we plan to use has excellent acoustics, one wall is completely covered by a thick curtain and it has a thick carpet. I've thought of simply putting up some thick duvets in the corners of the room to stop sound reflection off the walls, would that do any good?

Thanks in advance!
Dónal

Topic Tags

Comments

Boswell Thu, 04/28/2011 - 09:47

Hi Dónal, and welcome.

This type of question comes up regularly in Recording.Org, so it's worth your going through the archives.

"Half-decent" demos are not worth a great deal. Like it or not, people who judge your playing from a demo recording will also take into account whether you have deemed it worthwhile to record it properly to make it sound good. The budget you mentioned will not buy you enough quality equipment to record your whole band, nor will it buy you the knowledge and expertise needed to do the job.