Skip to main content

I am not experienced in this area, but there are no places within a 2.5 hour drive to take this thing to. If you think you can help, here's what I've already ruled out.

Channel 2 is working great. Analog or digital, the inputs are lighting up in the expected way. I have tested all other possibilities in the signal chain and it is definitely the channel. Nothing lights up at all when I plug a mic in, and obviously I'm getting no input either. I've looked inside and don't see any obvious problems like severed connections. I switched the tubes and this made no difference, so I know it's not the actual tube. Any thoughts on the next angle?

Topic Tags

Comments

RemyRAD Tue, 06/05/2012 - 19:37

In that particular unit is a combination of both transistors and tubes. Both require completely different kinds of power supply feeds. Does the tube light up? If it lights up, it is getting the heater voltage supply. No lights would indicate a problem with the bipolar power supply fee to the dysfunctional channel. Since the LEDs are generally fed from the positive supply rail, a resistor feeding the dysfunctional channel from the power supply for that particular channel would be my first thought. Carbon film resistors can sometimes crack without looking burned. You'll need the schematic to trace the power supply output which will split off to 2 independent resistors one going to each channel. The negative side of the power supply may still be fine but without the positive side, you will not get any LEDs and you will certainly not get any audio. There is likely no individual voltage regulators powering each side. Without a schematic I can't possibly know that for certain. Some folks do send out a higher unregulated voltage from the power supply and do put individual voltage regulators to supply each channel but generally that is not the case. Especially on more budget oriented equipment.