Skip to main content

Hello everyone. I'm new to the whole sound recording way of life and decided to bring my questions to the pros after much research with little results. I'm currently looking to find myself a recording setup for vocals. This will only be used for singing/rapping. I have a budget of between 500-800 dollars (would love to stay lower if possible). I already have the software and am strictly looking for hardware. I know nothing about this and would love some input on a nice setup.

What all will I need? I believe I'm looking for:
Microphone
Interface
Monitors
Cables
Headphones (I bought the Dre Beats Pro but I haven't opened it yet. Is there something cheaper that would work? 400 bucks for headphones is unbelievable to me.) If I can return these to put a little bit more into the rest of the gear, I'd do it in a heartbeat.
I have a great computer setup so that is not an issue.

Are the all-in-one kits worth it? I came across this the other day. Is it any good? What would be a good interface to compliment it?
[="http://www.amazon.c…"]http://www.amazon.c…

[/]In all honesty, I'm looking for the best gear at that price range. I'm very picky when it comes to buying items that I have no idea about. I know everyone has their opinions and I'd love yours. I really have a passion for music and have decided to finally make the leap. I want this to sound as close to pro as I can get for the price. Hope you guys can give me a hand. I know I asked for a lot without giving anything in return. Thank you.

Comments

TheJackAttack Sat, 12/17/2011 - 18:21