Skip to main content

Hi there you all. I am a dominican boy living in Dominican Republic. As many of you know this is a third world country where we don't have too much access to all of the many choices that exists today in terms of audio recording technology.
We have to trust on what people say about the quality of equipment because we have no way of testing a lot of the latest and high end audio gear in the market.

So, with the use of my faith, i will hopefully decide to buy what best suits me after considering all the information that you guys and girls share with me.

To resume what I do:
I am a producer, Mostly i want to compose music, using lots of virtual instruments plugins (all Spectrasonics line, Kontack 4, Addictive drums, Drummer Superior, Nexus, Reason, GtrRig 4, Sonik Synth 2, Miroslav Philharmonik, Arturia V collection, and many more instruments which I already have).

I want to be able to record quality vocals and guitars, persussions, brass, etc, at my acoustically treated studio room. I also do Jingles, scoring and some video editing too.

What I already have: I am into very fast 2.66GHz quad core, 8gb ram PC but I am planning on selling it to get an Imac dual-core 3.06GHz, 4gb memory cause i want to spend more time making and recording music and not troubleshooting.

I Have an M-audio Fast track ultra,(which i am selling), Yamaha Hs80 powered monitors (which i am keeping), an Axiom 49 keyboard (keeping it), a Mackie VLZ 16 (which i am selling).

Budget: $3,000 - $1,500(Imac) = $1,500.
When I sell the PC, M-Audio interface with Pro-Tools MP8 and Mackie mixer that would be at least like $1.000 more. Having a total of $2.500 left.

Time: I have limited time too because I am taking advantage of someone who is traveling to Miami on July 17.

What I probably need: I need to use protools because I was trained there and it is used on more profesional studios in this island.
That would demand me to purchase the 003 rack interface.