Skip to main content

I realize this is an industry standard, but this has to be genre specific, right? I am not experienced with recording by any means, but the thought of using an md421 for metalcore double bass craziness drives me bonkers... am I just plain way off or what? I have also heard of a 57 being used, and all I can say is that I could see these on like an indie pop type of recording where the bass is kinda there but more subconcious than anything else, but not on a metal recording, am I right?

We have a pair of AKG condensers (I can never remember the exact model because they aren't mine) we use as overheads, we slap a 57 on the snare, and an Audix d6 on the kick... but this time around we have a 421 to play around with, should I even bother setting it up to the kick along with the d6?

Comments

anonymous Sat, 01/29/2005 - 04:49

doesnt hurt to try, mic it up, see if it sounds like what you want...

i use a shure beta 52 a lot on kick, i used to use 421's on toms until i discovered ATM25's...

but there a no set rules to this game, its nice to have options, what works one day with one genre might not work so good the next day with another genre...

i think its a good idea to know what sound you want before you start out, then you have something to work towards instead of just flying blind...

anonymous Sat, 01/29/2005 - 04:58

we want a really fat thump... definitely something you hear. In the past we have gotten a really farty ringy kick tone, but we are using someone else's kit for this recording, so I'm not sure that this is gonna be as much of a problem

influences of ours are Botch, Narcissus, Drowningman, Norma Jean, Poison the Well, Craw, Every Time I Die... stuff like that, if that helps

LittleDogAudio Sat, 01/29/2005 - 08:50

The 421 will most likely give you some midrange presence but not a ton of click or low-end punch.