Skip to main content

I am an AV tech with a dillema. I am tired of using my company's cheapo mics to mic pianos when they come through. I was wondering what would be a good general purpose microphone that is pretty good sounding on pianos for under $100. any suggestions? I would be buying this, not the company so 100 is all I can justify spending for something that really won't monetarily benefit me. thanks in advance.

Topic Tags

Comments

TheJackAttack Thu, 12/17/2009 - 20:28

Nothing for $100 will ever be good on piano. What you really need is a pair of [="http://www.zzounds.com/item--RODNT55"]NT55's[/]="http://www.zzounds…"]NT55's[/].

If you are a good sound engineer you might get by with a pair of [[url=http://="http://www.zzounds…"]MXL 604's[/]="http://www.zzounds…"]MXL 604's[/].

The 57 is a great overall mic but not one for pianos.

Good and great microphones are investments that don't go bad provided you don't get reamed on the initial price. I guarantee I can get all my money and a little more out of every quality mic I've ever purchased-same with preamps. The cheap Chinese mic's on the other hand don't have any resale value even if (certain ones) in the right hands they can make passable recordings.

Save your pennies until you can buy something for real.

anonymous Fri, 12/18/2009 - 14:47

No matter how much I wish I could I could never afford $700+ for a set of mics my boss would refuse to cross rent to use for a show that the client really couldn't care less about the sonic qualities of the amplified piano. I am however interested in the theory behind using a pair of omnidirectionals rather than just two cardiods. also what is the benefit of using small diaphragm mics rather than large I assume this has something to do with pick up of ambient noise. is this the case?

BobRogers Fri, 12/18/2009 - 18:11