Skip to main content

I am a hobbyist and have been recording with an AKG c1000 mic for a 5 or 6 years and feel like its time to try something new. I was breifly looking at a RODE NT1A which is around 250$, but am just beginning my search. Any suggestions?
It will mostly be for acoustic guitar (occasionally used for vocals).

Comments

kmetal Wed, 01/08/2014 - 21:57

my current favs for acoustic are the Neumann 87, Rode Nt-5('s), and akg 414. i think the akg 451, and sure sm 81 would do quite well, but i haven't used them in that application.

i own an nt1a and it's honestly not seen much use, i just kinda don't like it, which is personal taste. it's nasally to me, on most things.

The nt-5 is a great, choice for acoustic gtrs, regardless of price point. The vocal aspect of your question is a whole other dimension.

if i were you, i'd pick the magic mic for your gtr which seems to be your primary need. if the same mic works on vocs, great, but vocals are so fickle that a $10 mic, or $25k mic could be the best.

in short, you'd be safe IMHO w/ an nt-5 (pair if your doing steroe acoustic), and an sm58. those are professional mics in the price range of a hobbyist.

anonymous Thu, 01/09/2014 - 04:59

OTOH, and I know it's beyond your price range, but you should look into the 414 at some point. It's a great all round mic, probably the best in its price class, a studio standard, and you can use it on everything with great results. It's also got a fig 8 pattern, which, if you were to set it up with another condenser cardioid mic, (like your C1000) would allow you to do M-S miking, which can sound fantastic on acoustic guitar.

You might be able to find one closer to your price range if you checked eBay. I don't think you'll grab one for $250, but ya never know, stranger things have happened over there.

jbourne84 Thu, 01/09/2014 - 13:03