Skip to main content

Hi,

I have some simple but fairly good quality recording equipment at home and also a P.A. which is used largely for vocals at small band shows.

I am not a professional recorder but I am a professional musician and I know the benefit of spending more money to get good quality gear.

I am currently looking at some eq/compression units but would like to get one that is suitable for live sounds (mainly vocals) and recording. Your VEQc2000 sounds like a very good unit by all reports.

1) Is the unit suitable for recording and pulling a good live sound?

2) Is it a massive overkill for someone who isn't running a pro recording studio and doesn't have piles of experience?

Regards,

Josh

Comments

Sebatron Fri, 01/14/2005 - 09:43

Hi Josh .

1) Is the unit suitable for recording and pulling a good live sound?

It's not really designed as a live unit., but could definately benefit sound reinforcement by providing some subtle musical enhancement.
More specifically it may take off some harsh upper mid action by highlighting everything around the squelchy areas...

2) Is it a massive overkill for someone who isn't running a pro recording studio and doesn't have piles of experience?

If you're creative ,... it will keep you occupied. Actually tracking through the unit also has it's uses.
Some owners use it for guitar , others use it for drum sub-mixes , others use it for full mixes .... some for vocal mixes...
In my early days as an engineer , i used to use the early prototype just for kick and bass when mixing ,, it would make the mix TOTALLY jump out with real solid bottoms.
I'd put the two in panned center and what came out was a 3-D bass and kick ... i'd pan the output left and right coming back on the deck ,, and it actually was different than a mono send coming back.It was doing its own Stereo Enhancement in the bottom register..... subtle but it was wide enough to change the track ...