Skip to main content

Hi

I am a newbie looking for an answer to the following question.

1.Which one will be good to go with the superb/ excellent sound quality?
Digi 003 With Universal Audio 710 Twin-Finity OR
Mbox 2 With UA 710 Twin-Finity

I already own a Mbox 2 Pro and looking for Digi 003 to upgrade. Mostly i would be recording one input per time, at the maximI'm only 2 inputs.

I have heard people saying that Mbox 2 pro does not has a good preamp so people suggested 710 twinfinity.

2. Is there any performance/sound quality difference between Mbox 2 Pro and Digi 003?

3. I am looking to buy Digi 003? Is there any reason do i need to upgrade from Mbox 2 Pro to Digi 003 speaking in terms of quality. By any means i would be using the 710 twinfinity.

Some people claI'm that 003 comes with the "Black Lion Audio" which is a good sound quality. If i need to hook up the 710 preamp with my Mbox
2 pro will i attain a better sound quality. Or else i should go with the 003 and then connect with 710 Preamp?

Can you please help me?

Comments

RemyRAD Fri, 12/02/2011 - 20:08

The analogy here is that you're asking if your Chevy Impala station wagon is as good as your Chevy Impala coupe. You have answered your own question.

Both of those microphone preamps in both units, box-2/003 are both equally as awful as each other. Unless you need more than 2 inputs, or if you want a dedicated control surface, if you don't like using your mouse as much. Then you might want a 003 since it offers more than 2 microphone inputs.