Skip to main content

Hey, I'm new to guitar recording. But I really want to start recording my own tunes. I'm not that great, but I can play good chords and tunes etc, so I was wondering.

Right now I have a $10.00 cable that I bought from Radio-Shack. It converts my guitar plug to a microphone size plug. Then I can plug my guitar or amp into my microphone slot in my Audigy2 soundcard on my computer. But the quality isn't that great on my computer. Especially when I use my amp or distortion.

1.) What kind of hardware can I get that's under $150 that will let me record quality guitar recordings or microphone recordings (if I ever decide to buy one)

2.) What kind of software is good to use to record with? Preferably one with the ability to layer different things. A friend recorded an entire song by himself. Just layered different things he recorded on itself.

3.) Is there some type of virtual-pedal software I can get? Something that will turn my clean guitar sound into something different?

THANKS SO MUCH!

Comments

Reggie Mon, 12/12/2005 - 06:14

If it is only guitar you are wanting to record, I would just get something like a POD (or the Behr*nger equiv.), plug your guitar into that, and plug from that into your Audigy LINE input. The mic input will destroy almost everything. The Audigy can record decent quality; you just have to feed it a good signal.

TeddyG Mon, 12/12/2005 - 08:59

You need to plug your guitar(Or anything EXCEPT maybe a microphone - some microphones) into the LINE INPUT of your soundcard. You MAY need some sort of "adapter", converter, whatever(?) to make your guitar "line" compatible. Look through the guitar catalogs/websites, or someone here will tell you just the gadget(Should cost very little.).

Indeed, "quality" is relevent, but if it can truly be had for $150 bucks, I have wasted thousands of dollars(Darn!)....

TG

CoyoteTrax Mon, 12/12/2005 - 09:13

Computer interface for guitar and vocals?

...with multiple effects?