Skip to main content

Hello,

I found this site a couple of days ago and have been reading all the great info on the archives. What a great site! It has lots of info, kudos to the organizers.

I'm not sure if this question should go in the "budget" section, if so please advice.

My question is: what would be the best PC DAW that I can get for $600? (Not including sound card, software, mic preamp's, monitors, etc.)

I will be upgrading my home PC in a month or so (it's an old Emachines 566MHz that I have been using for the past 5 years or so). This will also be the home machine; I think I will implement some kind of dual boot.

Looking around, I found a (non-Emachines Brand Name) P4 3GHz / 915G / 512MB PC3200 for this price. I will most certainly buy some more RAM later, but this seems to be a reasonable machine to start.

My goal is to record some demos of my songs, nothing too fancy... yet. Probably start with Audacity + the onboard sound card, then buy some software and a better card later on. Then throw a Great River and a couple Neve's just for fun... :D

For $600, can I do better by going the build-it-yourself way? Again, I'm not expecting ultra-performance, just a machine to start experimenting.

So far for my home computer purchases in the last 10 years I always went the "state of the art from last year" route with relative success. However, I wasn't doing any recording on them. With a DAW, can you be 1 year behind and still have a semi-decent machine?

Any recommendations are welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Camino

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Wed, 01/26/2005 - 07:39

P4 3GHz / 915G / 512MB PC3200 for this price. I will most certainly buy some more RAM later, but this seems to be a reasonable machine to start.

Yes this should be adequate to start with. Upgrading RAM is a good idea for the future.

With a DAW, can you be 1 year behind and still have a semi-decent machine?

Certainly. I built my DAW over 18 months ago.....