Skip to main content

Hi, I'm new here so be gentle please!

On my Boss BR-1600 digital workstation, I've created what sounds like a good recording, with appropriate EQ, reverb etc etc, mixing levels, which I then bounced down to two channels, followed by normalising that track. Going through the mastering process I selected one of the pre-set options which I felt was approriate, and created the master recording which I burnt to CD... however, having played the CD on a stand-alone player it sounds too quiet, too bassy and is generally messy (especially if i turn the volume up on the player), yet it seems fine on the actual workstation.

Is there a process I've missed out or need to re-adress, bearing in mind I am fairly new at this! I'm not looking to create a masterpiece just yet, though it would be nice to at least get a decent result on CD, whereby I can improve on and tweak myself once I've got hold of the basics. Thanks for your time guys.

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Thu, 12/01/2005 - 11:06

Okay, I've made a list of the stages I go through on the BR-1600. Forgive my lack of terminology use please!

01) After recording the song on various tracks, I place the fader levels to obtain a good mix.

02) Master fader is set in the middle of the 'black' positon area.

03) All individual tracks are bounced down to track '9/10'.

04) Track '9/10' normalized.

05) On the mastering section, I used the preset 'V01 Mix Down' - no other changes are made. The book mentions keeping the track and master fader level just below the point at where they peak on the display.

06) I then record the mastered version, and burn to a CD.