Skip to main content

I'm a beginner in music but play with some quite experienced musicians. None of them are vocalists but one owns a Peavey XR 684 PA system. We only cover songs, mostly classic rock.

It has 16 preset effects. I'm wishing for something like a "song mixers guide" that would indicate which preset would best help our live vocals replicate the original sound effect from the original bands vocals.

Example; we cover Sweet Emotion by Aerosmith. It would be great to have some document that said "set PA to preset #4, Cathedral, for Sweet Emotion", set PA to preset # 15, Flange, for Jumping Jack Flash (The Rolling Stones), and such.

So, after you stop laughing at my novice question, tell me, is there some such guide for PA effects?

Topic Tags

Comments

moonbaby Fri, 10/19/2007 - 04:21

Yes, there is a guide. It's called YOUR EARS. In most cases, attempting to apply the same special effects that a recording has onto a live performance scenario is simply bogus and non-conducive to a good-sounding mix.
For example, let's say the band is performing in a VFW Hall in downtown Birmingham. Lots of "room slap" reverberation. The band starts to crank out "Sweet Emotion". If memory serves me (I'm probably the same age of these "quite experienced musicians"), there is a heavy doseage of plate reverb (that's mostly all there was back then) in the beginning of that song. Do you know what that would sound like? MUD! Whoops, preset#16 worked fine in the rehearsal room, don't know why it sounds like crap in this nice big hall...