Skip to main content

Hi everyone,

First of all, i just want to say that this is my first time posting on this forum, so excuse me if I end up sounding a bit uncultured, lol. My band and I just fell into a biamp 8802 mixer and being that we are all somewhat broke, it was a great fit for us to record demos. We all, however, have no experience in mixing/recording, and as such, we are in serious need of some help. Basically, we are looking to hook up our mixer to an asus laptop and then into Audacity to record. any help with these systems or mixing/recording in general would be much appreciated.

cheers!
drike

Topic Tags

Comments

dvdhawk Sun, 07/04/2010 - 17:37

Hi drike and welcome to RO,

You might get better responses in the "Home Recording" or "Budget Gear" forums, but I'm sure you'll get some help here too. I'll give it a shot.

The Biamp manual is so bad it's amusing. Typewritten pages crookedly Xeroxed, sporadic bits of information and crude illustrations, - very appropriate since this mixer was originally made before a lot of people (or big companies for that matter) had computers and desktop publishing capabilities.

Anyway, you got a free mixer. That's all good. I'm just hoping your expectations are realistic. 20+ years ago when I'd guess it was new, it was still a budget mixer. So if you're expecting crystal clear pro-quality recording by today's standards, you're probably going to be somewhat disappointed. If you're looking at it as your starting point to learn the basics it will be a good way to get your feet wet in mixing.

There isn't any good way to hook your mixer directly to the inputs of the laptop. There are a number of bad ways, but the quality will be lousy.