Skip to main content

Howdy Pilgrims!

This is my first ever post. I've been on this board for about three hours now and as a newbie I am overwhelmed :-), but in a good way!

Anyhow, i have the digi 002R and I want to individually mic my drums so i would actually only need 6 channels but it seems like most multi-channel pre's jump straight from 4 to 8. Anyhow, I've been considering the PreSonus Digimax LT and I can pick one up for about $700 (it lists at $900-$1000) but does anyone have any other suggestions on 8 channel mic preamps or perhaps evena better way to run all 6 drum mics in my digi 002?

thx

Comments

anonymous Fri, 04/08/2005 - 10:22

i have the LT, and to be honest, i think it sounds pretty darn good. i also must say, you should try and go the extra $300-400 and get a True Systems 8-channel pre if you can. doesnt use ADAT, so youll still be using the 002 converters, but makes up for it in the quality of pres. IMHO...
but the LT will work fine for you, as long as your mics are up to snuff as well.

KurtFoster Fri, 04/08/2005 - 14:07

Without starting a big flame (I hope). I just want to point out that there are some people who really don't care for the PreSonus pre amps, me being one of them. There's lots here from myself and others to read on this. Read my review of the M80 in the RO E Mag for a start.

(Dead Link Removed)

There are also a lot of discussion on the subject in RO BB archives. Do a search on Pre Amps or PreSonus ...

I too, recomend looking at the True systems pres. They're not exactaly my cuppa' but at least they are well designed and meet criteria for a quality mic pre. Also of note but perhaps out of your budget would be the JLM TMP8. This is one of my favorite 8 channel mic pres.

On a budget, I am currently steering folks to the Studio Projects SP 828. I'm not saying these are smokin' pres but at least the features are all there and the price is much more in line with what pres of this quality are really worth IMO.