Skip to main content

Hi,
I rented a pair of Neve 1084's this weekend, and am very impressed with the sound of the preamps. I left the EQ's off, with all buttons out. These preamps sound very balanced and full, and multiple tracks mix easily. Almost magical. Closer to sounding like an album than ever.

Well, I've never used a Neve before, but now I would like to buy a pair of pres to get the sound these 1084's have, hopefully without laying out 5 or 6 grand.

Anyway, any suggestions on what to buy are much appreciated.

(do API's pres sound this good?)

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Mon, 05/16/2005 - 01:59

The 1084 is the same preamp as either the 1073 or 1081 (can't remember which one, anybody..?), the difference is that the eq has different frequencies. You should find information easily searching the net, there are lots of sites with info on neve modules. The 1081 is a different design from the 1073 so i will stop here until I remember which preamp section is in the 1084. They all sound great however. There are many companies making new preamps using the same or slightly improved designs that will give you a sound like that without the overhyped price for an original vintage unit that might need extensive repair to perform as it's supposed to, beware... I have two 1073-clones from http://www.vintagedesign.se they're called CA73 and gets my highest recommendations. Hand-built, up to spec, original St. Ives transformers...all the goodies. Also check out Vintech, Brent Averill, Great River, Chandler and Daking. All makers of great 70's class-A-style preamps.

The Api pres sound great aswell, they are not miles away from each other although slightly different sounding. If you liked the neves you will most likely like the Api's aswell.

anonymous Fri, 05/20/2005 - 23:33

Thanks for the suggestions, Marcus,

I ended up buying a Neve Portico 5012.

:D