Skip to main content

Hi I am new to the forum, just to give you a small background on myself, I live in Caracas, Venezuela, I am an electronic engeneering student, and I have been playing bass guitar for almost 10 years, and i am 24 years old. I will really apreciate all the help that you could give me since I am kind of new to the recording stuff.

I been doing some research and finally narrow my search to the following options

-mbox 2
-e-mu 1616 or 1616M dont know the differance
-PreSonus firebox, will prefer the firepod couse of the more inputs, but its a little bit over my price range.
-maudio firewire 1814

My intentations are to create a small recording studio at my house, the 8 simultaneas inputs of the firepod arent that necessary for me right now, since I won't be recording drums. I just need to be able to obtain a high quality sound, and some extras options such as a midi.

What is the diferance between th e-emu 1616 and the 1616M.

Of dose 4 which would you choose, I know it seems more like a usb vs pcmia vs firewire connection type thing. I know that the mbox comes with Pro Tools which is a great software, with the other two I won't be able to use pro tools. t seems to me that emu is the best one in quality and options, but whats getting me hook on the mbox is the software issue, even though its a le version, i won't have any comptability problems if i decide to record the drums, in a pro studio, and then record the rest of the instruments at my house, since almost all studios use pro tools.

I will be using a inspiron 9300 laptop from dell, with 2 gigas of ram and a 2.0 ghz pentium M procesor.

Thanks for taking the time to read and answer all my questions.

Comments

anonymous Mon, 10/03/2005 - 19:14

AudioGaff wrote: I've just recently got the 1616M and already have the 1820M and rellay think the E-MU packages are great value for the money providing very high quality.

The diff from 1616 to 1616M is that the 1616M has better converters.