Skip to main content

Opinions on the Tascam US224? Is it a substitute 4 Duo, Mona, or Audio2446? Any real strengths or weaknesses? I am new at this and am trying 2 crank up my 2000 PC with my Technics KN 5000 Keyboard. I do not yet own an Audio Card or a Midi Interface. All suggestions r welcome!
Thank u 4 your help.
~Saxman

Topic Tags

Comments

Opus2000 Thu, 04/11/2002 - 16:05

Well, I've owned the Tascam US428 for well over a year now and love it very much! It's perfect if you only need a couple of ins for audio, one or two Midi ins and just listen thru powered monitors or the like there of...
The 224 is the little brother to the 428 and is very much the same in most aspects..the differences being two vs 4 inputs, USB powered vs needing a power supply, 4 faders vs 8 faders, etc etc
It truly almost sells itself! It has Midi, audio and control surface all in one package...you cant beat that man!
The only product that even comes close to it is the Event EZ Bus but from whai I have heard only certain features work "ok"...the 224 or the 428 work great all around...
Hope that helps
Opus

anonymous Thu, 04/11/2002 - 16:22

What Opus said. :D The US-224 has a more limited control surface than the 428, and half as much MIDI and audio I/O, but if you're typically working alone and don't need to record more than two tracks at a time, it's a great solution. It's got a very small footprint and is USB bus powered, so it's a great solution for a laptop, for example.

It comes bundled with a 'lite' version of Cubasis, but works with almost all the currently-available DAW apps, as well as some virtual synths.

Even though I'm not with Tascam anymore, all the docs I created are still up on their website. You can get lots more info, even download the manuals....that should give you a pretty good idea what it's all about. Start with the US-224 page: http://www.tascam.com/products/computer_recording/us224/downloads224.php