Skip to main content

First of all, will I be okay with this setup as far as the soundcard goes? The Centrance Micport Pro will be my USB interface, but I'm assuming the soundcard that comes standard on the 15" Macbook Pro is pretty decent?

Second, software. I obviously have GarageBand on my Mac. How does this perform for strictly vocal recordings (I do hip hop ) compared to decent low-mid range recording software? With that question asked, I am a college student, and get REALLY good discounts on software at my school. If it gives you any idea, Logic Studio is $150, whereas it is normally $500. So, I would be willing to spend around $100 of my money or so on some recording software IF it will give me significantly better results than GarageBand. But, if for my purposes of recording personal hip hop projects, I would really be practically just as well off with GarageBand, then I will just keep that. Understand my question?

Thanks!

Topic Tags

Comments

hueseph Thu, 01/17/2008 - 10:36

How much did you pay for that micport? If it was over $30 it's way too much. Can you return it? In regards to the Macbook mic input, I doubt that the micport is much better.

I'm sorry but for the price that you paid for that Micport, you could have bought yourself one of many usb interfaces that include recording software. Usually Cubase LE which is plenty good enough for most people.

As far as Garageband goes, I think it's an awesome bit of software. Great for closet rock stars. It is not nearly as limited as it's simplicity might lead you to believe. I honestly think a person at home could thoroughly impress their friends with a recording in Garageband.

anonymous Thu, 01/17/2008 - 11:03