Skip to main content

Im interested in getting a Bellari Tube stereo comp model #RP282a,has anyone had any experience with this unit--good and bad 8-)

Comments

anonymous Mon, 02/07/2005 - 16:04

Kurt Foster wrote: I had one for a while .... didn't like it.

If I recall correctly, its a VCA based compressor with tube amplifiers ... and as such it sounds pretty much like a VCA based compressor .. If you like that kind of thing then it may be what you want ... I prefer EL OP and FET compressors myself..

Kurt,good to hear from you.
If you wouldnt mind,explain what VCA,EL,OP and FET is.
Im looking for a good,nice and round sound tube compressor,something more so for vocals.
Price range (600.00) 8-)

KurtFoster Mon, 02/07/2005 - 16:33

I am not an electrical engineer ... so I really am not the person to ask .... Fletcher made a post a couple of months ago regarding the topology of many compressor types ... one of the best posts he ever made here IMO a great explanation... Search the archives for it. I'll look too, and if I find it I will post the link here.

I'll try to give you the basics as well as I understand them ...

VCA is voltage controlled amplifier. Essentially, this is an amp that has a detector in the circuit. When the detector senses the level is exceeding the set threshold ... it turns the amplifier down ..

ELOPs (LA2a's, LA3's LA4's and the Manley EL OP, Tube Tech and ADL LA2a clones, among others) use a light source and a photo resistor cell to sense when signal is exceeding the set threshold ... I cannot say how the attenuation is accomplished ... I just know that to my ear, it is the most natural sounding of all compressors. If you want an audible effect from a comp, EL OPs are not for you .. a vca comp would do better. If you want to pull 10 dB out of a signal without affecting the tonal content much or adding pumping and breathing effects, look to an ELOP.