Skip to main content

Hi Folks,

Got a minor dilemma I'm hoping you guys can help with. I've been mixing with a set of JBL 4312As for the last 10 years, and I really like the tone. Call me crazy! Anyway, the amp I was using was an old Denon (home stereo - multi input - dual speaker channel out) amplifier. I got totally used to mixing with the "Loud" button depressed (I thoroughly expect a tongue lashing from Fats), because of the increased bass at lower mixing levels. Anyway, the amp finally blew up last week in a hail of smoke and fire, and I bought a new Alesis RA300 to replace it. Now, that lovely bass I was used to hearing at low levels is GONE. The Alesis sounds beautiful by the way - clean, clear, with a nice shimmer on the high end, but not the bass response I'm used to. So, I placed a subwoofer (JBL Control SB-5) on a separate channel of my speaker switcher in order to get somewhere close to what I'm used to hearing. I do get an increase in the bass freq's, but not near what I think it should be. Should I - a) retune my ears to the existing acoustics? b) get a separate amp and do the bi-amp thing? or c) get some totally helpful advice from you folks. I'm hoping for "C". What do you guys think?

Comments

audiowkstation Mon, 02/10/2003 - 13:30

Two bad deals...

First, the RA is a power amp. It is accustomed to being used with a line amplifier (like your mixing console) but make sure the impedance of your inputs on the amp matches what the output of your mixer has.

Do balanced with balanced, unbalanced with unbalanced ONLY!

Most of the time, using main out to an amp is better than control room out.

On the note, the gains on the amp should be setr "all the way up" at all times. When you cut them, you are attenuating the input (and changing the input impedance some as well) Make sure they are against the stops. If one of them accidently gets turned down a tad, your mix will lean.

Raw deal 2.