Skip to main content

I saw an advertisement for the Musician's Institute on the back of a bus today so that stirred up my curiosity. Would you pay $81,000.00 to go to Musician's Institute? LOL!
I'm thinking that even this school has become a business like anything else... a car dealership that wants your business... a mattress store... etc.
http://mi.edu/admissions-financial-aid/tution-fees/

Real musicians are self-taught. They learn by ear. It's in their blood.

Topic Tags

Comments

pcrecord Wed, 10/15/2014 - 09:03

Dr_Willie_OBGYN, post: 420188, member: 25832 wrote:
Real musicians are self-taught. They learn by ear. It's in their blood.

What do you meen by self taught ? Figuring by yourself how to do things or listening to all the youtube video on the subject ...

I'm considering myself self-taught but with some references. (books, online articles and a bit of youtube)
BUT, even if I'm the most passionate guy and my blood if full of it, I know I'm deficiant in many ways.
I have a limited knowledge of scales and chords. (I'm a drummer but need to help some customers sometime)
Starting to play an instrument with the good technic will save you years of hurting yourself sometime.
So to me, there's a big value to schools. I'm just sad, my family didn't have the money to send me ! ;)

Dr_Willie_OBGYN Wed, 10/15/2014 - 14:11

Eddie Van Halen, Jimi Hendrix, etc. Where do I begin. I'm not saying no to a few lessons to get started. It's one thing to take a few lessons from the guy down at the music store but 81K at MI??!! This is teachers making money. This is a school system business. People with natural born talent don't need a 4 friggin' year degree at the musician's institute. You can't teach talent. Invest that $81,000 and by retirement age that money will be worth almost a million dollars.

Watch "the college conspiracy" on YouTube.

pcrecord Wed, 10/15/2014 - 15:21

I agree that 81k is alot of money and it is exagerated.