Skip to main content

Advanced player here with a newly purchased guitar from mangore.com

I need to make a CD by the end of the year, mostly classical recordings.

My sound card is sh*t, my $20 labtec mic just broke, and all I have is a MZ-R90 Sony MiniDisc player.

I have about $300 to spend.

I have researched mics and decided on either the HM-1 or the SP B1. Which do you recommend as far as mics go?

I am a noob as far as preamps and recorders, I don't even know what a preamp is. I planned to just record to minidisc then somehow, maybe at a store or friends house, burn the minidisc to CD.

Any other suggestions/ideas for the $200 I am going to have left over after the mic purchase? :?

Comments

jdsdj98 Tue, 03/01/2005 - 22:38

guit86 wrote: Can't $300 worth of equipment plus some sound editing in Sound Forge or Goldwave make a decent album?

Umm, NO.

Classical recording is a very specialized art typically utilizing boutique gear, any one piece of which costs far more than $300. Others here can tell you more about that if you're interested. Minidisc is FAR from a professional format, yielding far less than professional results.

Do you have a good sounding room to record this in?

Have you ever been recorded before?

Are you experienced in engineering a recording "on the other side of the glass?"

Is this CD for your personal enjoyment, or for resale? If for resale, have you budgeted for the cost of artwork layout and duplication of the final product?