Skip to main content

Hey everyone. I have Sonar home studio 6 and have been running sound through my crappy sound card with a borrowed dirt old mixer so I need some help. I was wondering what to get between firewire and USB that is both mac and pc compatible considering I’ll be getting a mac soon. Also I was wondering which would be more suitable for my cause, an interface or a mixer. Any feedback on Phonic equipment? Oh yea and I forget to mention I’m a student, which means I’m poor… so around $200-300 is my budget. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated because as you can tell i am fairly new to recording.

Thanks a lot,
Mike

Topic Tags

Comments

RemyRAD Sun, 02/10/2008 - 00:54

You're going to spend $2000 on a Macintosh and you have only 200-$300 to spend for your audio interface? That's sort of like spending $2000 on new tires to put on to your $300 VW. I think you need to think about this a little more? It's called budgeting. The first thing you learn when building a studio. So I have this 1974 vintage 36 input Neve console and I need to find some microphones at radio shack under $10 each to plug into it. Right. This is starting to sound stupid.

So, you're probably looking at 500 to $1000 for a worthy 8 or more input FireWire interface. If you want something that will provide you with a multifunction purpose, you'll want a FireWire mixer. If it's strictly for recording purposes and no PA will ever be required? You'll only need a FireWire audio interface. Either way, you'll want FireWire device to go with your Macintosh. Most USB audio devices don't offer as many simultaneous inputs as their FireWire counterparts since most USB audio devices are USB 1.1 not 2.0. So to track a rock band, you'll want at least eight inputs simultaneously at a minimum.