Skip to main content

Hey everyone!
I'm new here and I'm kind of new at recording. I'm having some trouble finding the right settings for tracking drums. I'm using the Behringer eurotrack ub1222fx pro with nady drum mics. I'm using cool edit pro and when i record my levels tend to get too lound in cool edit pro and the audio is blasting off the screen. if i lower the levels to where the audio has defined spikes, it sounds like I'm playing drums in a box. does anyone have any suggestions or settings i can try to fix this?

thanks
ted

Topic Tags

Comments

RemyRAD Wed, 02/15/2006 - 22:17

The important thing to remember is to not overload while you are recording. That cannot be corrected for an after-the-fact. You may actually like that harder denser effect by over recording but it's not as applicable in digital as it was in analog days and so should be avoided at all cost.

When you record at a lower volume level and are safe from overloads, on mix down, you will be able to add equalization, compression/limiting and DSP effects like reverb and delays. I believe you will like the sound of your drums better once you increase the density by adding some fairly aggressive compression?

Now it is not completely necessary to attain that, through tracking and mixing but rather in the final stage process of Mastering. So you are really dealing with 3 elements within your recording. Tracking. Mixing. Mastering as your final element.

Crunch crunch crunch
Ms. Remy Ann David

RemyRAD Thu, 02/16/2006 - 22:10