Skip to main content

I am a hobbyist and have been recording with an AKG c1000 mic for a 5 or 6 years and feel like its time to try something new. I was breifly looking at a RODE NT1A which is around 250$, but am just beginning my search. Any suggestions?
It will mostly be for acoustic guitar (occasionally used for vocals).

Comments

MadMax Mon, 01/20/2014 - 16:41

I've been holding off on responding to this thread since day one...

new mic for acoustic guitar to replace AKG c1000 ?

jbourne84, post: 409557 wrote: I am a hobbyist and have been recording with an AKG c1000 mic for a 5 or 6 years and feel like its time to try something new. I was breifly looking at a Rode NT1A which is around 250$, but am just beginning my search. Any suggestions?
It will mostly be for acoustic guitar (occasionally used for vocals).

Yes... I have a suggestion...

TRY A REAL MICROPHONE and retire that C1000 ice pick with an electrical connection to hell, to some rather appropriate duty... like leveling a bar stool... or as a make shift tent stake....

I feel like its time to try something less painful... PLEASE go by something useful to understand what a microphone should be.

The suffering you've endured will pay you in benefits even if you just to go get an SM57!

Poor lad... the suffering you've been through of not knowing if those were hell spawn sharpening their claws on your driveway, or if your best friend had shoved ice picks in your ears for fun and profit.

Surely, you have got to know that coaxing anything that closely resembles the sounds that an acoustic guitar makes - out of a micropone of that calibre, is such a hideous task, that any reasonable microphone of less than stellar performance or response (either LDC or Omni) will seem like a breeze from the heavens.

4033's a great starter... maybe the 4020... Rode's fine.. not always the best for any given task, but plenty acceptable for novice work.... just ANYTHING but that C1000. oooof...