Skip to main content

8-) I've been researching the 1010LT PCI card and was wondering if the 96kHz will be obsolete any time soon? I thought that CDs were at 44.1 so if this is true... how long do you think it will take for producers to start at anything higher? not that it really matters to me since I'm just an independent musician... it just got me thinking before I purchase this card... also other reviews of this card would be appriciated too... I read about 20 and they all seemed quite possitive thanx

Comments

David French Mon, 10/04/2004 - 17:34

Some are already using 192 kHz, but most believe this is superfluous. 96 kHz will not be obsolete anytime soon, and frankly, something that sounds good will never be obsolete. 16 bit vs. 24 bit makes much more of a difference in quality at this level than 44.1 vs. 96 kHz. I believe the 1010LT is a great card for the money and would serve you well for many years.

anonymous Mon, 10/04/2004 - 17:36

oh and I had one more question about the 1010 card, if I have a Mackie 1402-VLZ for home studio recording purposes... how exactly will I run from the M-a 1010LT into the mixer board so that I can use the Mackie as a pre-amp for my con. Mics? I guess the 1010LT comes with two xlr connectors from what it looks like l/r RCA and the rest are RCA?... so in that case would I have to use addapters? I am checking other boards and some ppl just don't like the M-Audio w/ a mixer board and would rather buy the delta M-Audio 1010 which is understandable because of the conveiniance of TRS... but it would be about another $100 and I'm a college student and broke lol.... but I dont' know maybe the advantages of the 1010 non-lite would outweigh the $100 what do you guys think? thanx for all the input... (please excuse my naivity feel free to criticize) lol I'm still learning