Skip to main content

I'm new in this game. I've seen a good deal on a Tascam US 122. But at home I have already the Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS. The external device of the Soundblaster does the same thing as the Tascam, or is there a difference?

Topic Tags

Comments

imagineaudio Fri, 01/28/2005 - 08:59

I've had a brief experience with the US122 I was setting up for a friend. I would recommend staying away from this unit, or any other USB audio device. Opt for something in a similar price range thats based on a PCI card, I've been using a M-audio Delta 66 with the Omni I/O breakout box for about 3 or 4 years now and havn't had any problems with performance or nothing (other than blowing the xlr mic ins by hot plugging a mic with the phantom power on, my fault) I think this is a great unit for someone starting out. It has mic/guitar inputs with decent pre's, 2 line inputs, 4 outs, FX send/Return, Rec Outs. Its more than capable for someone just starting out and gives you room to learn and and grow into the unit........you may outgrow it in a few years, but your going to learn alot about signal routing and various setup options while you are learning piece. Plus they can be had on ebay for about 150-200$$$ Give it a look....

anonymous Tue, 02/15/2005 - 10:21

tascam

I bought the us-122 as an open box for $179.

I have laptops (dell 1.7Ghz centrino/1 gig ram and an ibook g4 new)

I installed the tascam drivers on my dell and the laptop went belly up. I am very experienced with drivers/installs etc and I will admit my laptop had a lot of junk on it. I had to rebuild the laptop and have yet to test the drivers (yes latest and greatest) to see if it crashes again.

Loaded drivers on Ibook , worked perfectly.