Skip to main content

I've been playing music, jazz, rock, for 10 years now and I'm hoping to start recording some of my projects. I'm definetly on a budget and I know I won't get the greatest quality but I want to do it.

Basically I have instruments and a pretty good computer (Asus G71). I have a copy of of Cubase LE that I have learned how to use with a crappy karaoke mic I plugged in the 1/8" slot.

I want to record my rock band (Guitars, bass, drums, and vocals) and maybe some jazz combo stuff on the side. I'm trying to deside what the best way to go about buying gear is. I don't know much about what I need to plugin to my computer in terms of mixers or other audio interfaces, and I'm trying to deside what type of mics to get that will cover the drums well and still work well for vocals and guitar.

Any suggestions would be great.

Topic Tags

Comments

TheJackAttack Tue, 11/16/2010 - 20:08

My suggestion is find some local college kid that is trying to go into recording or broadcasting that has their own gear. Your budget is too small at the moment for your ambitions of recording a whole band. A student would not charge full rates giving more bang for buck and your band could spend the time practicing instead of a job trying to earn $$ to buy sound gear.

anonymous Thu, 11/18/2010 - 02:39

Actually $600 isn't completely out of the question if you already have the computer. I have a mobile setup that I use all the time and with the right audio interface, you could do some basic recording with little problem. Do you know the specs on your computer? If it's a duo core or better, and since you already have Cubase LE, you may be close.

Here are some suggestions, and the sound quality will not be bad at all.

Firestudio Project (used will be less expensive) see these examples - [[url=http://[/URL]="http://www.musician…"]firestudio project Search | Musician's Friend[/]="http://www.musician…"]firestudio project Search | Musician's Friend[/]
(Dead Link Removed)