Skip to main content

Hey guys, have any of you tried anything with this chipset for audio?

I am looking to build a new machine, so I decided to pop by and take a look here before I did. I saw the ANUS spec, and it looks pretty cool, but figured I'd run this by you guys anyway. I was considering going dual AMD MPs, so here is a proposed spec. Please, if anyone can pick holes in it, go for it so that I don;t regret dumping my last few $$ on it.

Tyan Thunder K7 Motherboard (760MP Chipset)
2 AMD Athlon MP 2000+ processors
512MB registered DDR memory
Asus 7100 GeForce2 MX video (I have only one monitor for now...)
1IBM ATA100 20GB HD
1IBM ATA100 80GB HD

*CD-RW, CD-ROM, and soundcard not included as of yet.

So what do you think?

Thanks in advance,
Vlad

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Wed, 04/24/2002 - 11:18

Ahhha! Ok, thankyou Nick! I have heard mixed reviews on IBM drives, but people I work with (I am a programmer for an IT firm) swear up and down by IBM drives. I was thinking about going WD, but I have seen lots of people (particularly in the ANUS spec) going for Maxtor. Any reason for this or is it just personal preference? I will now stay away from IBM drives.

Vlad

SonOfSmawg Wed, 04/24/2002 - 11:42

Yeah, stay away from the IBM HDDs. There are a lot of people having major probs with them. Go with the Ultra ATA133 Maxtor drives with the Fluid Dynamic Bearing Motors, in their D740X line.
http://www.maxtor.com/Maxtorhome.htm
They're a little more expensive than some others, but they're well worth the few extra bucks, especially for audio, because they're noticeably more quiet.

Opus2000 Wed, 04/24/2002 - 12:08

Agreed on the hard drive issue...stay away from IBM as there are more horror stories regarding these than any other brand...I have yet to have a Western Digital or a Maxtor die on me..IBM, two went bad on me.