Skip to main content

Looking for advice on the Mac Mini

I've been considering getting a Mac Mini 2011 for mostly recording purposes and I'm a total rookie with this stuff. Not the most knowledgeable of computers either so I've been taking the advice of a couple of people and websites on good PC's for recording. I'd like to save by getting a cheaper monitor and keyboard so I can get a nicer audio interface but I'm not sure if that's a good idea.

I could also buy a less expensive computer so I can spend more on the audio related stuff. I just don't know what's compatible or what works well with the Mini (audio interface, recording software) or even if it's my best option in that price range.

Basically I can spend $1000 and after the Mini I'll have $300 for the extras. I'd appreciate any ideas on the Mac Mini, other computers, and what kind of audio interface (has firewire ports) for under $150 (or if I should wait and pay more)? Cheers!

Chris

Comments

DrummerDan Wed, 05/18/2011 - 12:12

iBuyPower. i am getting one built from them soon, and the quote was 779.00, it had a Phenom X6 SixCore processor each core being 3.7Ghz, 8GB Ram, Large upgraded motherboard with USB3,FireWire and just about everything else. 500GB built it HDD,( i have an external i would use for recording) and that all comes with Win7.

Thats about....4X what the mini has. For 2/3 the price

siddler Thu, 05/19/2011 - 13:55

Nice!

That computer sounds awesome...powerful and with lots of memory and speed! I much appreciate the info. I don't know what HDD is but I can look that up myself. It was nice to finally get a post on here. I thought I may have committed a party foul by posting this in the budget section but I figured computers run pretty expensive. That would still leave me with some room to buy an audio interface and recording software. Nice!

DrummerDan Thu, 05/19/2011 - 14:25