Skip to main content

I enjoy making music videos on YouTube of my own song parodies. Right now I am working with a $20 desktop microphone, and trust me, it just isn't cutting it.

What I want to do is get a good microphone and a stand that will work with my computer for under $150 (preferrably around $100). I am only 15 and I am not looking for professional equipment, just something better than what I have. I may purchase a pop filter to go over the mic for the best quality.

My computer only has a Line In and Mic-In ports on the sound card. And of course several USB ports.

Could you please help me come up with the best list of products I need to get and where to get them? Like I said, I am a Newbie at this beyond my desktop mic. The editing and mixing is no problem, I am really good at that, I just need better sound quality so I can sing at full potential without worrying about being to loud to be picked up.

Thanks,
Clifton

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Fri, 02/20/2009 - 20:02

I have a Behringer Ultravoice XM8500 that sounds like someone has scooped it with a really big shovel. But it can handle fairly high spl and has the qualities of a brick, sonically and structurally and it's like $30US.
I wouldn't recommend it. But it works.

Then you'll probably want an interface. Onboard soundcards just blow chunks.
This was linked yesterday by Dave_p and it looks like a total bargain.
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Lexicon-Alpha-USB-Audio-Interface?sku=245507

Once you get over of the sound of the Behringer mic, just get an SM57 or an SM58 and you'll sound clear as day. You could just start out with the SM58 plugged into your mic port but you wont have Cubase LE that you get with the Lexicon and you wont have any sort of quality.

So much to choose from, so little money. :P

Have fun and enjoy yourself, that's the main thing.

anonymous Fri, 02/20/2009 - 20:41

I built up a list of products based on what you told me.