Skip to main content

Does anyone have any experience, or any reviews for this new product? I have heard anazing things about the Us-1641, but I cant seem to find a difference between the two other than the color difference.

Topic Tags

Comments

DrummerDan Wed, 04/13/2011 - 16:53

Well I would like to have all of them be the mic inputs. I am a drummer looking to start a little project studio, and more than just recording my drums will take up some inputs, but since I plan on having friends come over and lay tracks down and stuff, I would like to have as many as possible. all while being inexpensive.

Thats why I after months and months of searching, I selected the Tascam US-1800, it has 8 Mic inputs, and in addition it has another 6 line-inputs. So if i was to buy a channel strip or something I could expand the interface up to 14 mic tracks if i wanted to.

TheJackAttack Wed, 04/13/2011 - 18:47

The Alesis doesn't allow you to record individual channels. 8 mic preamps is a rough request for $400. I think the cheapest 8 mic preamp interface that I can recommend in good conscious is the Presonus Firestudio Project. When you think about it, you're asking for eight $30 preamps and some cheap wire and parts. At least the Presonus has decent drivers and will work with any DAW and including PT9. And the preamps will be usable and reliable as opposed to the Tascam.

DrummerDan Wed, 04/13/2011 - 19:22

i wouldnt go that far to say they are unusable, many people will argue against that, i did a search here and found most people loved the transparency of them. Also, just so you know, PT9 is not in my planned future. maybe sometime when i can afford 600$ on just software ill consider it. but id be willing to bet I can use that extra 600$ on something i really need. The US-1800 comes bundled with Cubase 5.

Also, FYI, the MultiMIx USB 2.0 does multitrack, but when i looked into it, it doesnt have enough avaliable inputs to connect another 4 mics... so thats out.