Skip to main content

Well I have been recording for 3 months now and am ready to commit. I have an Apple Imac G5 (1gig ram, 1.6 proccesor), Firebox, Small Behringer Mixer, and a MXL 990 Condensor Mic.

I record mainly folk, indie, experimental, funk music. I am looking to get a warm, vintage sound like the old America, Zeppelin, and Simon & Garfunkel albums.
I would appreciate suggestions on a good vox mic, drum mics, and acoustic mics. As well as a pre-amp and monitors. I would like to keep this all under $2000 if possible
thanks

Topic Tags

Comments

Guest Sat, 06/04/2005 - 03:45

$2000 suggestion

Hello,
I am not exactally sure which models you are looking at (highend, medium cost range, or budget gear), or what type of gear you are looking at (pre-amps, compressors, upgrade to new mixer with better sounding pre's, effects processor, or whatever).
I read your list of quipment. But what one guy would add to the list next, would be different than what another guy would add.
So with that having been said, I am gonna take a stab at it and suggest either a tube pre-amp for that vintage sound.
Maybe a Millennia TD-1 would be nice for you, it's a pre-amp with a tube and solid state DI. Which I hear is a very nice piece of gear. Or maybe the UA gear has more of a sound that is of your taste. Try looking at some of the gear at http://www.littledogaudio.com
Or any of them, for that matter.
Also you can get, a vintage sounding mic. What do YOU think you want to add to your studio setup next?
An effects processor, that has some sort of vintage analog "tape delay" might work for you on vocals also.
Help us narrow it down a bit.

anonymous Sat, 06/04/2005 - 04:33

I suppose I am trying to ask which items including: (Drums mics, Vox, Mic, and acoustic mics, as well as a good pre amp and set of monitors), would you guys suggest if i was going for a vintage, warm tone. Of course with it all being below $2000.