Skip to main content

Hi,

I have an AKG C4000B and am just currently using the pre's on my Mackie desk. Can anyone suggest a preamp that will do the microphone justice..perhaps one well suited to it?

Tubes optional but some color would be nice, my vocal recordings sound quite sterile to my ears.(Which isn't a totally bad thing I guess as at least I have room to move when mixing)

Topic Tags

Comments

anonymous Mon, 07/25/2005 - 20:35

May I add the following question...which is probably more the important issue here:

Based on the premise that the preamp is just as important than the mic, is the C4000 a decent enough mic that I should be happy with it (in that it has no real vices as such), and now be concentrating on getting myself a great preamp to really get a pro sound?

TeddyG Tue, 07/26/2005 - 07:37

Well... It sure is expensive enough to be good! I have no experience with this model, but it is an AKG, and they make nice mics.

A bit late now to make mic recommendations, but I would suggest that if you'd like to try a similar quality tube pre to compliment your Mackie pre's(Which I use as well.), you investigate the DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip. They've been available for some years, I have one, works fine. Lots of buttons to play with - includes analog, SP/DIF and AES/EBU out(I use AES/EBU at 24/48.). You can try different tubes as you like. Comes with a 12AU7A, and a DBX tech told me that he uses a 12AX7, in his, so it's apparently safe to try... When I bought it, it was the ONLY "channel strip" with ALL the features I wanted - most STILL don't offer as much! The "tube pre" itself was the only thing I wasn't sure of, but, as it had everything else --- I got it. It's made more than it's share of coins for me( I do voiceover.). I paid 400, I see them now for about 500...