Skip to main content

Hello. I just bought a Tascam US-224 and I seem to be having the same (frustrating) issue as these two Tascam users --

(Dead Link Removed)

and

(Dead Link Removed)

I had no trouble installing the software and connecting the US-224.
But when I plugin my mic and try to record, I only get a faint, crappy signal that barely registers on the Input meter. I have to CRANK the trim and phones level to hear anything at all. I even bought a new mic cable and set of headphones to be make sure those weren't the problem.

Here are my system and gear specs --

Computer
- Dell Dimension 8100, Pentium 4, 1.3GHz, 256MB DRAM, Creative SB Live!
sound card, Windows XP

Gear
- Tascam US-224 controller, Shure SM57 dynamic mic connected directly to Mic input
via lo-Z cable

Please, please help. I'm anxious to record. And forgive me in advance for any dumb questions -- I'm very new at this.

Thanks!

Topic Tags

Comments

Opus2000 Tue, 07/16/2002 - 21:19

Hmmm...low level signal coming from a dynamic mic into a 224....well, I have a 428 and I'm plugging in a 58 to see.....check one two..check one two(whatever you do never say three...Mkay?! :p )
What type of headphones did you get? Some have a really low impedance and others have a really high impedance so the level you are hearing is much lower than you would want it to be...Sony headphones are loud! Rappers love em since they like it ear bleeding volume usually! AKG's are very quiet...