Skip to main content

Hello everyone, this is my first post, I'm a newbie from Philippines... I recently bought a Yamaha MG124CX Mixer purposely to be a preamp for my Delta 1010lt. I intend to use 6 mics for the drums and thought that the console can hold up to that task. My only confusion wiether to use the group and stereo out of the mixer to connect to my delta inputs or to use the insert from the mixer to the delta. How would it differ? Your feedback is highly appreciated...

My other question is if the Mixer output level acceptable enough for a live recording of drums. Any suggestions?

Sorry for my english.

My DAW is Sonar 6PE, Triton LE (Synth), Yamaha YST Monitor.

Thanks...

Comments

RemyRAD Mon, 10/01/2007 - 01:12

I recommend utilizing the inserts to feed your computer audio interface. This gives you the least amount of circuitry to travel through and the most pure signal path. You would only use the group outputs if you wanted to combine 2 or more microphones into a single output. Otherwise, completely unnecessary.

We are related! My brother married a Filipino woman.
Ms. Remy Ann David

Boswell Mon, 10/01/2007 - 02:13

The MG124CX is not really designed as a recording mixer, so you don't have a lot of choice if you want to record raw tracks (unmixed, no effects added). Only 4 of the channels have inserts, and there is only 60dB of gain available from microphone in to insert out.

If you insist on using 6 microphones for your drumkit (4 is usually enough, especially to avoid phasing problems), you will have to use the group or main stereo outs for the other two channels. You will need to take care with matching the levels between the insert outs and the other outputs.