Skip to main content

*I posted a similar thread in Home, Project Studios, but realized this is the forum I should be asking in... anyways

I'm a longtime musician, but up until about two weeks ago had essentially zero recording or digital audio knowledge. Then I turned 21 :D and recieved a bit of money from my family towards getting muself a DAW of some sort. Its all I can think about now, I'm so excited about it, visions of motus and Tascams run through my head as I'm falling asleep.

Let me describe what I want to do, and then I'll tell you my tentative set-up. I'm the keyboard player in a rock band, we do a little bit of metal, a couple reggae songs, mostly pop songs towards the softer end of the rock spectrum. Recording and producing the band's music is obviously a priority.

I also want to do a lot of solo work, whatever weird sh*t I can come up with on my midi keyboard, drumset, clarinet, acoustic and electric guitars, and any other instrument I may bring home eventually. I'd like to integrate this into electronic music that I create on the computer as well. Maybe sample sounds, turn them into the beat in a song, that sort of thing too.

Score to movies. This sounds like a lot of fun, I make my own films as well and this is something I've always tried to do. Having the movie playing up there in quick time, synced to my tracks, looks awesome and really fun.

From my birthday money and savings from my job, I've got three thousand dollars saved up. After a bunch of research, I've come up with this... could you guys give me suggestsions, tweak my options a little bit, whatever? Thanks a lot.

in short: Imac g5 or used g4
Logic Express
MOTU 828MKII + a mixer or Tascam FW1884
Yamaha msp5 active monitors

Let me go through it so I can pose my questions... thanks for reading through this crap and helping me!

Imac G5, 1.6Ghz, 512mb RAM, one 80 gig hard drive.
OR